Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The ability to make rational and morally correct decisions is an important quality of a good leader. At the same time, respecting everyone around him/her in the course of action is also something that is highly important as it depicts the virtues of a decorous leader. Although comparing one to the other can be considered treading treacherous waters, I personally agree that maintaining the respect of his or her peers is more important for a leader, for three reasons.

To begin, it is important to consider multiple situations where one has to mirror the actions of others in contention in order to negate the deleterious effects of their actions. To illustrate the same, I would like to adduce the perplexing situation mentioned in the religious text of Hindus, the Mahabharata. It cites a situation where Arjuna, the bravest fighter on the side of the Pandavas, is caught in a situation where he has to obliterate his uncle. His uncle was an old man determined to win the throne by finishing off his brother and his family. Arjuna decided that it was important for him to save the honor of his family and if that required killing his uncle, he would happily do so. Thus saving the respect of one's peers becomes incumbent on the savior than doing the morally correct at times and had Arjuna decied otherwise, he would suffered the alternative fate.

Further, it is also necessary to accede to the fact that morals today are as fickle as one's thoughts in deciding the meal for the day. Since there is no standard for morals across the human race, it is difficult to state what is correct or not in a given situation. Also, morals can easily be questioned. To elaborate, we can think of armies of various countries who fight to save the sovereignty of their respective countries. Morals here play a secondary role to honor as this is what people are willing to fight for and are even resolute to give up their lives. There is no denying the fact that violence never stands corrected, but if a soldier in a battlefield has to make a choice between shooting the enemy and letting the enemy be, then the morals can be tossed to different bin and be superseded by respect. Thus we can convincingy conclude here, that as a pragmatic solution, respect of peers is bigger than morals.

In addition to the point of solutions inkled at in the last line of the previous paragraph, we can consider the applicability of solutions under different situations. Circumstances play a vital role in deciding what is correct. Since we live in a world where practicality is the new definition of truth, it is important for us to consider respecting one's peers even under circumstances that may require a different decison morally. An example of the sample would be politics, where politicians try to stand by their decisions as much as possible in order to maintain equinamity rather than take morally correct decisions such as suspending corrupt people immediately from their party, since that could jeopardize their campaigns in the long run. Although it can be argued that there should be limit beyond which the dynamics change and morally correct decisions should supersede respecting others, such as chiding a person for some reason that may harm his/her reuptation, it is important to stand up for oneself. But again the same situation can be considered rare and the situation can be deflated in a much better manner if a combination of the two is applied smartly.

To conclude, it can be said that respecting one's peers is the better option as it caters to the resolution of multiple issues and is a more practical ways of dealing with things than moral uprightness.