Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

The author here believes that controversial topics shouldn't be discussed with those who have different point of view about that topic as this dicussion won't lead to any conclusion because most people stick to their core beliefs and don't refrain much after the discussion. I would like to disagree with his point of view.

Discussions and debates have been an integral part of humanity. People take part in various discussions not just to ridicule or win the argument but to share their opinion and get to know about others point of view as well. Many times people get to know some information that they didn't know earlier because of this discussion. This may lead to a change in their point of view as well. People refrain from changing their stand so easily. They are adamant. But this isn't the case always. Some people who lack knowledge about the topic tend to change their stand easily by taking part in a discussion and being moved by one of the sides discussions.

Moreover, taking part in a discussion is not always about pushing your opinion in others mind. Its not always about winning the debate. Its more about taking part in a healthy discussion and getting to know other point of view as well. Sometimes, because of our core believes we tend to support a wrong notion as well. But when we take part in a discussion we get to know about contrasting point of views. This broaden our thinking power. Its also true that many people who have gone too far in their idiologies won't just change their mind in just one debate or discussion. People tend to get impede. For example, a person with leftist idiology won't change his mid in one debate and become rightist the other day and vice versa. But taking part in a healthy debate makes them know the shortcomings of their ideology. It makes them know where they're wrong where others are right. This is the beauty of a healthy discussion. And eventually, maybe an extreme leftist can change his approach to rightist and vice versa if given strong points and comebacks in many discussions not just one. So its denegrate to refrain from taking part in a discussion with those who have contrasting views.

Discussion of controversial topic is really important as it makes us get to know contrasting views as well. Its not about changing your point of view. Its more about getting to know others point of view and getting more knowledge about the topic.