Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

I am taking the position that discussion with people with contrasted belief is useful.

In the world there are many controversial topics. Many people believe controversial topics, wheather it is right or not ,unknowingly. But One should justify this topics. For justifying this topic ,discussion with people with opposite belief helps a lot. It is more harmful if any people hold belief that is wrong.

When one discusses with other about any topics then many flaws comes out. Then analyzing these flaws one can easily alter his held belief with the right one. Morever discussing about controversial topics makes people how to think ,how to disect a topic. People learns how to analyze. Discussion with contrasted mindset people makes people more tolerable, morever he becomes accustomed to listening what other people are saying ,carefully. Discussion about controversial topics gives different perspective of a scenario, it ushers new findings. So one can easily find out if his hold belief it it is viable or not?.

If it is true that very few people change his core belief but there is no problem. At least there are people who have the mind set to alter his or her wrong core belief ,that is a good thing. Nvertheless, it is better than the holding a wrong belief. With the people with the right view there may be another people who might also change his view.

So discussion about controversial topic is a good thing even if few people alter his or her mindset.