Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

The characteristics of a country is one the important parameter to define how development of country will take place and cities being part of the country helps us understand these characteristics. The issue here states that to understand most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities. I mostly agree with the given statement for 2 reasons.

First, people from different part of the countries come to major cities to have a better lifestyle so it is possible to find different culture staying together in one major city. For instance, mumbai in india is a place where people from different part of the country come to settle. In mumbai different cultural festivals take place throughout the year in peace and harmony, people not only celebrate their own cultural festival but festivals of different community as well. so we can see how people from all over the country can come together and stay peacefully which

shows

multiple important characteristics such as interdependence and harmony. Similarly different major cities can

show

different characteristics of country.

Further, major cities are not defined in the issue so there can be multiple major cities depending on the different aspects such as finance, culture, agricultural and many more. so for example, mumbai is the financial capital of india so the characteristics one could find in mumbai will be different from varanasi or kashi which are cultural cities of india. so to find out all the different aspects of a country one must not stop at a define major cities with a bias on particular parameter, because it will limit the finding of characteristics and understanding of a country in a particular point of view.

On the other hand, if the major cities are defined by a particular parameter such as population or GDP, then the people wont be able to get a overall perspective of the country and some characteristics will stay hidden. but as the definition of the major cities is not clear then we can conclude that by seeing all major cities the overall characteristics of a country can be understood.