Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs. Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

Discussing certain controversial topics with people brainwashed or unflinching about their core beliefs is certainly not very useful. In today's world it is not only useless but also very dangerous to discuss about controversial topics.

People nowadays are triggered by even a minor remark which they do not agree with. And with social media at everyone's disposal, people have made it a mission to have "cancel" people who do not agree with their personal views and beliefs. Take for example, the actor celebrity, Steve Johnson who was always in the limelight for his amazing roles until he was asked to express his opinion about LGBTQ rights. This opinion ended up being the downfall of his career because people of that community found it "offensive". Now the actor wasn't proposing any change but simply sharing his thoughts. So discussing such controversial topics can bring the downfall of even the most accomplished personalities.

Another sensitive topic which people get easily get offended by is religion and race. Governments are capitalising on race and religion divides for their vote banks, and are spreading false propaganda and trying to brainwash citizens which is causing a greater strife across various factions in the society. Even when people try to question the significance of a certain religious practice out of curiosity, people think of it as though the person is making fun of their religion. And there is no one more dangerous than a person who thinks that his religious sentiments have been hurt.

There are certainly some controversial topics that people across the world have been discussing with open minds and which has brought about a positive impact. All in all, it is mostly futile to have people with contrasting view points discuss controversial topics given how humans are hard-wired to handle oppositions to their core beliefs