Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

The idea of a "view" on a particular topic when unchallenged by a contrasting perspective, will result in a situation that resembles a "frog living in a well". The person with such one sided views look upon it as the supreme truth and all else as a work of fiction.

First, the concept of debate includes the development of the final solution by comparision of contrasting view points. The presence of a opposing view from the other party helps us to evaluate our own viewpoints from a 360 degree perspective. Usually when an argument is formulated by a party with a bias towards one view, it tends to concentrate only on the positive aspects. For example, the advocates of the plan "Urbanize Cetopia" were in favor of upgrading the city of Cetopia with bigger roads, high rise buildings and improved infrastructure. This bill was passed unanimously by the goverment and implemented. But it was not untill a fews years down the line, the people of Cetopia felt the actual costs of the new city. The wider roads has required the quelling of hunderds of trees leading to greater air pollution. The highrise buildings led Cetopia to put a greater strain on its fresh water bodies, leading to a draught like situation. If the concept of "Urbanize Cetopia" was debated in the parliment instead of a unanimous vote, perhaps these shortcommings could have been exposed much earlier in the process.

Second, the human mind is much more flexible than it is given credit. Studies have shown that the opinion held by a person is the result of collection of facts presented and understood by the person over a period of time. A person who has never heard the other side of the controversial view has never really evaluated the other stance. By discussing views and presenting accurate facts in a matter which the other people can understand, not only we get an evaluated view of the topic, opposing parties usually understand what the other side has to offer on the situation.

While it is nesesary to have contrasting viewpoints to evalute a topic on a complete basis. It is more important to first discuss the idea with like-minded people to fully gauge the strength of the idea before its presentation. If a half baked idea is put on the pedestal for debate, it is unlikely to convince anyone to vote in it favor, effectively ending the topic before it even realises its proper potential.

In conclusion, the controversial topics especially needs to be evaluated by those of contrasting views as only this allows for the 360 view of the topic and helps in the proper implementation of the solution, if any.