The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

The cases of irrational rage on the sidewalks and streets can be traced to distracted people not paying attention to their surroundings. In today's era, this distraction is highly fueled by these cellular phones which command a huge part of the person's attention.

First, the addiction to cell phones has been a major cause of unintended conflicts in public areas. People using cellphones while driving or walking down the street are usually absent minded to their surroundings, this leads to a plethora of problems such as people crossing the road without paying attention to the incoming traffic, people bumping into each other or not paying attention to the tram that rings its bell for people to move out of the way. For example, it has been noted in the city of Hong Kong that every year almost two dozen people get hurt on its suburban rail transport system because they fail to heed the warning by the guards as they are too busy texting on their cellular phones.

Second, a study has been noted that the constant use of cell phones or electronic media tend to lead people to be more irritable than those who are more involved in their surroundings. This being a major problem witnessed mostly in metropolitan cities than the suburbs where many people cannot afford to have a cellular phone.

While the benefits of banning celluar usage in public areas altogether may have its benefits, it may be a pain point for people who may need to use it on an emergency basis when walking out on the streets. A solution to this would be to designate areas where cellular phone usage is allowed similar to the way there are designated smoking zones at the corner of the street.

Therefore while cellular phone is a big gift to mankind, it's widespread incessant usage in public areas is both a hindrance to the people and a safety hazard as well.