Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

The success of a good leader can often be measured by the degree of respect he commands from his or her people.The democaratic system of functioning requires the effective co-operation from the leader and his or her peers to realise the state's goals.

The position of a leader in world today is not seen as a person who commands people what to do, but infact as the person who works together with his peers to push the wheels of progress for the state. Such concepts of governance only work when the leader maintains the respect of his peers. This sustained respect is what allows the leader and his peers to work together in implementing the long terms goals for the benefit of state .

The emotion of respect in humans is an involuantary response invoked when that person views or experiences anything great or awe-inspiring. This leads people to place their trust in their leader and follow the what the he or she commands. Without this respect of the people, the leader is ineffective in synchronizing people with the long term plans he or she has for the benefit of the state.

While the sustained respect of the peers and people is required for the leader to stay in position for now and the future. The initial respect for the leader comes only when he or she has exhibited a sound moral judgement. People of the state will put their vote and confidence with the person who has already demonstrated that he or she can deliver tasks with a sound morality that puts the people before themselves.

Thus the success of an effective leader can be measured from the respect he or she commands from their peers. In addition the leader can only ensure to function properly and realize the long term goals only when he or she has mastered the ability to maintain the respect of his peers and people.