The drawbacks to the use of nuclear power mean that it is not a long term solution to the problem of meeting ever-increasing energy needs

Proponents of nuclear energy as "the power source for the future" have long touted its relative economy, "clean-burning" technolagy, and virtually inexhaustible fuel supply. However, a lose examination of the issue reveals that nuclear energy proves more problematic and dangerous than other forms of energy production and thus is not an acceptable solution to the problem of meeting ever-increasing energy needs.

First and foremost, nuclear power production presents the problem of radioactive waste storage. Fuel byproducts from nuclear fission remain toxic for thousands of years, and the spills and leaks from existing storage sites have been hazardous and costly to clean up, This remains true despite careful regulation and even under the best of circumstances. Even more appalling is the looming threat of accidents at the reactor itself: Incidents at the Three Mile Island and Chemobyl power plants and at other production sites have warned us that the consequences of a nuclear meltdown can be catastrophic and felt worldwide.

But beyond the enormous long-term environmental problems and short-term health risks, the bottom-line issue for the production of energy is one of economics. Power production in our society is a business just like any other

and the large companies that produce this country's electricity and gas claim they are unsble to make alternatives such as solar power affordable. Yet-largely due to incentives from the federal government there already exist homes heated by solar power and cars fueled by the sun. If the limited resources devoted to dats to such energy alternatives have already produced working models, a more intensive, broadly based and supported effort is likely to make those altematives less expensive an arablematic.

Besides the benefits in terms of both cost and safety, renewable resources such as solar and hydroelectric power represent far better options in the long run for development. Thess options require money only for the materials needed to harvest the renewable resources. While suright and water are free, the innovative technologies and industrial strategies devised to harness them have created a geometric progression of spin-offs affecting fields as diverse as agriculture, real estate, space exploration, and social policy. These options also repeatedly prodused secondary economic and social benefits, such as the large recreational and irrigation reservoirs created in the American Southwest behind large hydnoelectric dams like the Hoover and Grand Coulee.

While it may now be dear that the drawtacks to the use of nuclear power are too great, it should also be apparent that the long-term benefits of renewable resources would reward investment. I these altematives are explored more seriously than they have been in the past, safer and less expensive scurces of power will undoul-edly live up to their promise. With limited resources at our disposal and a burgeoning global population to consider, further investment in nuclear power would mark an unconscionable and unnecessary waste of time and money