In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river’s water and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities.

As per the argument, Mason city residents enjoy water sports, like swimming, boating and fishing and claims that nearby Mason river is rarely used for these activities. As there are less recreational activities to maintained on river side, the city council alot little budget to maintain these activities. But in recent times, city resiidents have claimed about the foul smell of water, city council have allocated increased budget to clean up the river. With these activities going on, author claims that this cleaning activity will result in increased recreational activities and city council should, therefore, increase the funds allocated for recreational activities to be maintained on river side.

These claims are far fetched where author has directly linked the river side recreational activities with the present state of the river and iI think is it not advisable to link these two activities with one another without answering some questions.

First of all, we have to understand, that if the river is not rarely used for these activities, what are the activities for which Mason river is used for, is it swimming, fishing or boating. Activities like swimming can also be carried out in swimming pools. Also, there is a possibility that boating and fishing can be carried out in other nearby water sources like ponds, which is a few miles away from the town, or some other rivers. For example, there are chances that Mason town have a pond, which is 5 miles away, to which families usually enjoy their weekend doing activities like fishing, barbeque, camping etc, so they usually go out on their weekend to enjoy instead of doing activities in the town river instead. Without answering this question, it would be far feteched to assume that all the activities are done in Mason river itself.

Secondly, author assumes that town council, as they are allocating increased budget for river maintainces, they should also increase increa funds to maintain river side activies as well, this is also a inncorrect assumption which relies on the present condition of the rivers with their cleaning activities. For instance, this river mainting activy might be not be an annual activity and its limitied to once in five years.

So to use this argument to make a claim is not wise as it is not in any way related to the funds given for maitaining recreational activities.

To summarize, without answering these questions about recreationcal activities going on in Mason river, and without knowing the frequesncy for budget allocation for mainting river side, author cannot claim that recreational activities will be increased. And even though these activities are increased, do they really need extra funds to maintiain these ongoing activities.