Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Educational Institution is one place where a person reaches out in search of platform for their dreams. They have to put every student in the same level and help them achieve their dreams. By depriving the student to not opt for the field of study they are unlikely to succeed is like crashing ones dream which is not right. Educational Institutions have no right to stop students from pursuing their field of interest even if there are risks involved.

On the contrary, The institutions should help students to get to their dreams and achieve their goals by helping and motivating them. The famous Steve Jobs was a university dropout because if was not interested in the course that was then offered from the university but something else attracted him more. With the help of Steve Wozniak, he started the famous company of all time, Apple. The interest if the student in the course rises interest with the studies and success of the student in that course.

If educational institutions get a say in student’s career choices, this will deprive the students of the freedom to choose for themselves. A student might be really interested in a field, and he might have just started learning in that field. if the professors start dissuading him that he will not be any good in that, and therefore he should not even aim for it, that will just ruin all the dreams. For example, if a student wishes to be a doctor and does not get expected grades in couple of course at the university the school cannot tell the student that they are not fit to become a doctor. Rather the school can guide a student with suggestions as where they went wrong and how can one improve themselves. A student needs motivation, encouragement, and support of their teachers and peers. The last thing they need is someone telling them that they will not be successful in it, hence they should not go for it. How can anyone know that they will be unsuccessful at it later when they have just started.

Many factors play a deep role in deciding somebody’s success in a field. It can be their interest in that field as a major factor to start with, their dedication and hard work they pour in, their voracious attitude to always be hungry to learn more, their perseverance to go on with it even in the hard times. Success is a complicated mixture of many things done right, it cannot be judged at the initial stages of the life. It’s a continuous effort taken by the individual to improve and being dedicated and patient when things don’t always go the desired way. People of South Africa discouraged Mahatma Gandhi but India calls him Father of the Nation.

In conclusion, it’s up to an individual to choose a field which they find interesting and get the support of the teachers to be successful in it. The professors should be bolstering the students and correcting their way if they go wrong somewhere, but not discouraging them by saying they will be unlikely to succeed at it.