Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed

Choosing a major has become increasingly important to a student because most students will work in their fields they study in school. While students usually favor those majors which rank in the first places, such as computer science, not all students can master the skills of computer programs. But do educational institution should persuade students not to purse those fields where it is seemingly impossible for them to succeed? I believe dissuading all students to change their majors is not wise. From my perspective, I partially disagree with the statement.

Admittedly, for those who ignore their own abilities and pure only the popular fields, the educational institutions are supposed to tell them they are not suitable for what fields they have chosen. Before making a choice of the major, people pay more attention to the salaries of future jobs than their own abilities of learning. Taking civil engineering for example, to be an engineer is seemingly respectful and can be one of the highly paid jobs in many people’s eyes. However, in fact, nearly half students have great difficulty learning physics. They just take it for granted that what an engineer needs is just a good command of math, ignoring the fact that this major requires so much knowledge of different kinds of physics, like elastic mechanics, structural mechanics, and so on. Concrete also confuses numerous students when it comes to the structure and the material of the concrete. All the things mentioned above are not well considered for those who cannot master this major, and thus the education institution had better persuade them from this field.

Nevertheless, the choice made by students can have something to do with their own dream jobs. For example, though a student majoring in chemistry has trouble learning only a few certain courses, such as recycled battery, it doesn’t matter whether he can get good grades in this course. In fact, there are more than thirty courses a student has to study to get the degree. And a certain flaw in only a few courses can’t exert great effects on all his scores. What is more essential is the comprehensive GPA. Besides, the institutions may have no idea whether a student can succeed in his fields. They only know the grades which are whether good or bad. As for the real ability and the possibilities, they can’t clearly tell which one is the best.

What is the definition of success? The answer varies from person to person. For scholars, the number of famous papers on worldwide magazines such as Nature, can play a critical role in judging whether has succeeded. For salesmen, how much they have sold to customers is the most factor. For the governor, what position he or she can get in is of significant importance. And for an ordinary person, having a warm family and enjoying everyday life can be described as a big success. School is a place for learning basic courses and also for further studies which can improve the whole society. After graduation, succeeding in the company may not depend on the scores they get in school, but the effective and efficient ways they work. If a student chooses engineering as a major, fewer achievements though he gets during school than those who are better at the courses, he can still get a wonderful job as the manager of one department in the company which demands less knowledge but more communication skills.

To sum up, I maintan that educational institutions should only dissuade students who have great difficulty in their fields to make a change. But for most students, as long as they can pass the exams no mater what grade they get, it is hardly wise to persuade them to change their majors.