The well being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Well being stems from the precedence people set for themselves. It is largely a function of income, lifestyle, religion, economy, politics and natural occurrences such as earthquakes, tornadoes, etc. In a broad sense, it is more encompassing than what the existing authority decides as so many factors alter it either positively or negatively. Hence, to purport that well being is tied to the ability of citizens to challenge authority is an overly simplistic view.

Income, as a singular factor is sufficient enough to prescribe the lifestyle that one can ever live. Some will argue that it is the government that decides income but in actual fact, the income that one earns is proportional it is one's skill and how much demand that exists for it. Hence, one may not need to challenge any authority to earn more income and improve on one's well being. A man who decides to switch from selling biscuits to selling hand burger will definitely double his income without querying the government.

Indeed, aside income level, the economy of a society influences well being more than anything else. Consider a country like Nigeria where minimum wage was a negligible amount. Although citizens have challenged existing authority in a campaign for an increase, yet well beings have not improved because cost of living has climbed the stairs as well after the minimum wage increase. Inflation as an economic condition results in so much money chasing fewer goods and this does not balance up to improved well being no matter the extent to which government is tackled. It will take an improvement in Gross Domestic Product to cause the required turnaround.

Also, lifestyle is another influencer as far as well being is concerned. A drunkard who earns very little per month will only buy more brings after the government is tackled. This change has not necessarily improved lifestyle but has predisposed the drunkard further to diabetes which will even lead to worse state of health.

Again, do we not want to consider natural disasters? A tornado occurrence can worsen lifestyle no matter to an extent that it may never recuperate again. The victims of such mishaps may have already confronted their government but it sure won't restore their damaged properties.

In conclusion, it is important to admit that when the people challenge government, some negative impact decisions can be reversed but this does not guarantee improved well being. The factors that decide better experience for humans is beyond their government and is largely dependent on the economy, lifestyle, nature and so many other factors.