A recent survey on 250 adults show that people who want to increase well being should decrease the amount of time they spend online

While it may be true that there is a connection between the number of hours spent online and the likelihood of depression, this author's argument fails to make a convincing case that people who want to increase their well-being should decrease the amount of time they spend online.

Citing the survey on 250 adults as the basis for the conclusion is a bit specious. The author did not explain the scope of the survey. For example, if the survey was conducted on people who already have depression, then the result will be presumptuously convey an implied conclusion as stated. If the current of the individuals during the time of the survey was explicitly stated and there was a mix between those who were already living in satisfaction and others, then the result would have been credible. However, a case study on 250 people does not give a true data representation of the entire human population which counts into billions.

In addition, the author fails to explain the content of the questions within the survey. For example, if questions like "Did you feel depressed after spending 30 minutes on social media" and "30 minutes is enough time for depression to kick in after participating in online social media activities. Do you agree?" Then the answers would have been skewed to yield the results presented. This hence makes the survey results invalid.

Furthermore, the author fails to create a strong relationship between the feelings of people before they went online. Had the author mentioned proofs to show that everyone who logged in online being happy, logged out being morose, then the argument would have been valid. Since this strong connection cannot be proven, then the claims are without warrant. For example, someone whose lost money in business may likely feel withdrawn and can resort to social media for comfort. Possibly, if one fails to find this comfort, he may not have necessarily found further reasons to feel depressed online. A post-online activity survey on such a person will read positive to depression even though the source wasn't stated.

Social media activities can be a source of happiness, refreshment, information, business growth and as well depression. Depending on it;s application, the results of it's usage will vary from person to person. Hence, it will be invalid for the author to conclude that abstinence from online activities is the key to improved standard of living.