Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

The concept of civil disobidence, the idea that individuals should obey just laws and disobey unjust laws, is not a new idea. First created and used by Henry David Theoreu in the 1800s, civil disobidence has spread around the world to various nations and societies. The result has been the transformations of societies into more just and tolerant ones, which is no doubt a positive transformation. Seeing as how being a part of a society means one must maintain and improve that society (much like how a houseowner must maintain and improve their house if they should live in it), it is logical that those individuals participating in a society have a duty to obey just laws and disobey unjust laws.

Take, for example, the civil rights movement in America during the 1960s. Those who followed the doctorine of Martin Luther King Jr. protested the unjust treatment of African Americans by resisting laws they deemed as unjust. The various resturant sit ins and the unwillingess to give up a bus seat to a white individual are examples of their resistance towards laws that attempted to oppress and demean African Americans. The impact these actions had is well known. Not only did these actions bring attention to their cause, but they eventually lead to the repealling of the very laws they saw as unjust. Had they not done so, America may very well still have those laws in place, thus continuing the oppressetion of minorities. It is clear those who were a part of the civil rights movement were following their duty. They were a part of society that treated their fellow human beings poorly. They knew that they need to take action, otherewise this treatment would continue to affect their children and their children's children. Therefore they had a responsibility to resist these unjust laws, as doing so would allow them to do their duty as an individual part of a society.

Furthurmore, every individual part of a society has a responsibility to obey just laws. Whenever an individual joins a society, they come to an implied agreement (much like the social contract concept developed by Thomas Hobbes) with the other members of the society. The individual agrees to follow the rules of the society in order to reap the benefits of being part of that society. These rules are explicitly stated in the form of laws. As mentioned previously, there are instances where the individual is compelled to resist thoses laws. In those cases, the laws do not accuretly reflect the rules of the society. However, in the case were the laws do accuretly reflect the rules, it is clear those laws are just. In this case, the individual is bound to follow them, due to the implied agreement disscussed earlier. Thus an individual in a society has a responsiblity to obey just laws.

By examining the role an individual has in a society as well as the role of society on the individual, one comes to the realization that the individual is required to obey the just laws and resist the unjust laws. They must do so in order to maintain the ideals of the society they inhabit. If they do not, they reject the society and therefore cannot be a part of the society. Individuals may come and go from a society, but the concept of civil disobidence remains a core tenant of all societies across time and around the globe.