The first step for self-knowledge is the rejection of the familiar.

The issue posed by the speaker regarding whether it is important to reject the familiar, past knowledge to walk on the path of self knowledge is a contentious one. Self-knowledge lays a foundation for innovation and progress. While each side of the issue has its own virtues and shortcomings, I concede with the speaker that for self-knowledge it is crucial to first expunge the boundaries set by the previously proven and accepted ideas.

On the first facet, to develop the basis that leads to ideas that are transcendent, it is very important to constantly evolve and one of the major barriers for this development is the limitation provided by our prior knowledge. The extraordinary physicist Albert Einstein once said that, "We cannot solve problems with the same thinking we used to create them". This quote puts light on the fact that for innovation to flourish it is of utmost important that we change our outlook from time to time. The approach we used when we came up with a problem is certainly not the one we can use to solve the same.

Second, history serves as the best teacher to further guide us through this contention. The earliest example can be traced back to the invention of fire in the stone age. For man of the stone age to come up with the idea of rubbing stones to generate fire it was very important that he thought above the previous guidelines set by the society. It is really important to release the mind trapped in the cage of familiarity.

Many critics to this viewpoint argue that the previously proven theories have been thoroughly analyzed before they came into existence. Thus they should we given substantial weightage as they can provide meaningful insights. The point of view fails to undermine the importance of rejecting the familiar as despite of the fact that these proven theories can provide insights, they also create doctrine or rule book which inhibit the ability of thinking out of the box.

In the final analysis, for the advancement of human generation, it is very important that previously accepted theories that provide impediment for further evolution of knowledge are rejected. Thus self-knowledge will further advance after the abolition of the dogma introduced by the prior knowledge.