The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar

Knowledge refers to being aware or being informed about a particular subject, topic, or occurrence. As a result, knowledge is touted as a praiseworthy attribute as opposed to ignorance. However, in becoming informed about a particular subject, rejection of the familiar need not be a key component.

Many of the world's brightest thought leaders have been celebrated based on their abilities to follow through requisite process of becoming knowledgeable. First of which is the acknowledgment of one's ignorance about a particular subject. In doing so, one becomes free of the popular Dunning-Kruger effect - the illusory claim to knowledge, when in reality one does not know. This is very important in subject matters that require a deep level of understanding. For instance, in trying to become knowledgeable about the Medical profession, one does not reject familiar methods of treating and diagnosing patients that have become sturdy having faced rigorous processes before being ascertained. Rejecting the familiar in this scenario might have a negative effect as compared to standing on the familiarity of what has been tested and trusted for several numbers of years.

Also, in the scientific realm, the steps to attaining knowledge are clearly itemized. One does not prove anything by beginning one's journey in physics by rejecting Einstein's popular energy equation or the famous Newton's Law of motion. Rather, one starts by becoming well informed about the subject matter and further solidifying one's knowledge by juxtaposing other related contributions on the subject matter and then relies on which of the body of knowledge presents a surfeit of evidence in favor of their position. Again, rejection of the familiar in this case would not be beneficial.

Conversely, in fields of knowledge that relies on creative imagination or such that allows disruptive innovation, rejection of the familiar might be very effective. How does one explain the successes of Tesla if the founder himself hasn't found a way to reject the familiar narrative of making products that relies on fuels? To buttress this, what is actually meant is that rejection of the familiar might actually be advantageous to one's ability to be an independent thinker.

Conclusively, in regimented fields of knowledge, rejection of the familiar might not be effective. Rather reliance on available knowledge is key to becoming knowledgeable.