The powerful are most respected not when they exercise their power, but when they refrain from exercising it.”

The famous saying, “with great power comes great responsibility comes to mind here”. Wielding a lot of power and knowing when to exercises them represents one of the hallmarks of respected people in the society. In line with this, I agree that respect can be accorded to people who choose to exercise restraints despite the surfeit amount of power they wield.

Societies should not be built totally on the praise of sycophants neither should people give in to the naysayers. It is common place that a lot people dread the idea of oppression from people who seemingly have some authority or an ounce of power over them. However, the idea that powerful people should always restrain might be problematic. This is due to the fact that, a lot of people would be insolent or at worst, not fear the damning effects of their attitudes they exude in the face of the powerful. For instance, how do one explain the rudeness that comes with attacking a public official taking a walk in during his leisure period owing to a bill he sponsored which in the attacker’s subjective view, they disagree with? While it is demanded that such official shows decorum, this allows for impetuousness on the part of the supposed weak.

Conversely, showing restraint is of course an esteemed value as it demonstrates empathy on the side of the powerful. Not all actions by people are deliberately meant at getting the powerful livid. Showing restraint leaves indelible mark on the part of the offender. Imagine the scenario of a popular celebrity that has been smeared by some detractors but choose to forgive at the decision of court or allowing the offenders face jail terms. Clearly, this would be an avenue for further augmentation of one’s status in front of the people.

In trying to make a nexus between the two scenarios described above, it is imperative that the case of deliberation be made on what the attitude of people should be towards powerful people, and that if powerful people choose to demonstrate their power, it should not be interpreted as callousness but rather, an effort should me made to understand the underlying details.