The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals One year ago we introduced our first product Bargain Brand breakfast cereal Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top selling cereal companies A

In the memo, the author concludes that Bargian Brand should work on new low-priced food products. This conclusion relies on several premises, such as succeeding their cereal over a year of and being a profitable product. Although the author's assertion could prove true, he should answer three questions in order to bolster his persuasiveness.

First, is the cost of producing new products the same as breakfast cereal? The technology and equipment for cereal may be less expensive than other products. In this case, the profit of cereal is coming from these cheaper machines, but for initiating a new line of products, the owner has to invest more money, which could reduce the profit. Moreover, maybe cereal production does not need skillful and experienced staff; by contrast, most other products require professional workers who need a higher salary. Likewise, the profit could be lower than the cereal process as they have to dedicate more money to the employment section. If either case holds water, the author's suggestion would considerably hamper.

Secondly, is the author sure that BB breakfast cereal will sustain its sales? It might be possible that, due to their newness, people were keen to buy and taste them. After a year, it could become like other products, and people will look for new brands to escape their routine and find new experiences. Furthermore, maybe with the emergence of new lower-priced cereal, people would abandon BB cereal as the price is a high priority for them. In addition, even if there is no new lower-price cereal and people are loyal to the product, an unpredicted side-effect will appear. In this situation, not only could they lose all customers, but it also put a massive burden on the owner's shoulders if he has to pay the medical expenses, leading to bankruptcy and the company's closure. If the above examples have merits, the author's conclusion will fall apart.

Finally, are other factors leading to lower prices exclusively for this product? It could be possible that the company's owner has many hectares of maize nearby. This might get them an advantage as they do not need mediators who cost them. In addition, maybe the lands could be near the factory; therefore, the transportation cost would be reduced. On the other hand, the new products require a barn, for example, for a diary, which the owner does not possess. They should contact many farmers to reach an agreement to supply their demands, which is competitive with other companies and may not lead to higher profit as they compromise. In either scenario, the author's suggestion is not overly compelling.

In conclusion, although the author's suggestion for expanding low-priced products could be sound, he should consider answering the above three questions to make his argument credible.