The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper quot Commuters complain that increased rush hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time The favored proposal of the motorists

The following argument proves environment friendly and speaks in favour of the commuters at first , but it has many loopholes and many parameters to be accessed. It will be futile to make a decision based on assumptions which are not lucid.

Firstly the cause of the rush-hour traffic on the Blue Highway is not specified. There can be reasons like there is some construction on the other highways hence commuters have changed their route, or there is some mismanagement of the traffic during the rush hour. It also does not specify if this issue is new or has being persisting from years. If it is a latest issue then there can be reason like increase in the commuters. Hence a propr analysis should be done as to why the commuting time is increasing and from how long does this issue persists.

Furthermore concluding that adding a lane to the Green Highway worsened the traffic hence the same results will be found in case of Blue Highway is a fallacy like “Apples v/s Mangoes”. We cannot compare two different highways as the argument does not suggest any information about them. There can be a case that Green Highway connects different parts in the city center whereas Blue Highway connects suburbs to city hence as a result green Highway is used more which resulted in worseoning of traffic. Hence the author should specify the connecting parts of the highway, and the count of daily commuters using these highways.

Believing that adding a bicycle lane will be encouraging is a bit skeptical. As we are not aware about the age demographics of the commuters who use the Blue Highway . If the commuters involve aged citizens , the bicycle lane will be futile and the traffic problem will still persist. The argument suggests that many area residents are keen on cycling which is very ambiguous, but the actual count is not given.Even if there are many keen cyclists , the argument does not prove if they use the highway for commuting and even if they do their vehicle causes the increase in commuting hours. Hence a detailed survey should be conducted with regards to the kind of commuters and then a decision should be made.

In short the argument is flawed for many reasons. The commuting time for the Blue HIghway commuters should definitely decrease but the argument fails to support the solution provided. The author should provide more information on the parameters listed above.