Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field

In the 21st century, there are two parameters that decide the jobs that individual want to apply for. Firsty their interests count and secondly how much scope does their field have.If every individual decides to follow their passion and get the desired jobs it will be both a boon and a bane. It will be boon for the individuals as they will get a chance to work in their field of interest and bane as many people with the same job will not be profitable for any of them and can lead to unemployment.

The one who chooses to follow their passion and choose their field of study may or may not get a job. If the job availability is less , he or she may be unemployed for a long time. If the particular field has higher availability of jobs , then choosing that study is a safe option and if not they need to have a backup plan. For example if a student wishes become an archaeologist and study for the same, but due to lack of availability of jobs he will be without a job.

People following their passion might result in an imbalance in the society. Interests are mostly born by seeing the end result of the journey. Someone would want to become a photographer as they might want to travel the world while someone would have a real attachment to the camera. This might result in everyone choosing one field of study and other fields will be ignored. As a result there will be a troop of unemployed people who have knowledge only about a particular field and cannot work in other field where there are available jobs. This imbalance will affect the society .

If we consider the example of Chartered Accountant Exam, there are many aspirants but the passing percent is in single digits. Not everyone can become a Chartered Accountant as the demand for their jobs is very less and as a result of less demand their pay is high. If everyone get the opportunity to become a CA there will be more CA’s and less job vacancies. As a result most of the crowd will be unempoyed. Hence the evaluation method is kept tough which tests every individual with rigorous questions

Following passion and helping the society is desire of every individual. It has many advantages like one can explore in their choice of study, they will not work for money, but it has many disadvantages like unemployment and economic imbalance in the society which weigh down the advantages. Therefore i feel people choose their field of study on availability of jobs in that field.