'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it is true that the television station need to attract more viewers and losing the advertising revenues but this memorandum doesn't make cogent case for restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level .It is easy to understand that business needs to get back on stage but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions and thus ,not strong enough to lead the idea of going back to weather and local case.

Firstly , in which it is mentioned that televison station changed the time lines between the national news and local news ,throughout this time they are receiving the 'most of complaints' in which viewers wants to see more weather and local news.It is not clearly mentioned that these complaints are coming from what time , their is lack of information .The television set changes the casting over the year and may be these comaplints are only getting in the last two months only or its started in early months only.Also there is no definite mentioned that what viewers are concerned with , is they want more weather news or they want see more local news .There is also lack of data that is not able to mentioned that how much complaints are this , like number of complaints to total number of receiving and what kind of customer is it , also no authenticity mentioned for the recieved compalints and data, therefore on the basics of there weak assumptions it is not so right to come up with the decision on coverage of news.

Secondly, in memo it is concerned with the business of having lossing the adversting contracts at late night show , this statement which is mentioned is no where relation that it is due to increased time to national news .there are multiple flaws in this dialogue. For example it is highly possibe that local business that used to advertise at late night show , now wants it at day time for more attention to viewers , secondly on that may be they are getting the same services at low price in market .It is also possible that they no longer wants advertisment for their product , as it maybe going well .Therefore , deciding the idea of impact of advertisement business and forecasting the news is indepedent and based on holes assumptions.

At the end , decreasing the time span on basis of mentioned reasons are not perfectly anaylzed and also information is also flawed with assumptions.For having more accurate reason , they may have survey conduct to viewers what they really want to see as well as a feedback form to the other business party as to see what is the primary reason for losing it .Hence , the decision of changing the time slots for news is depends on less accurate data and can be summarized with better reasoning.