The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a five-hundred-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read costs only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits to Acme. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

According to the text, Acme Publishing Company's personnel director recommends to the company's president to provide Speed-Reading courses for employees. He has said that with the speed-reading courses, employees' productivity in many companies has increased. Also, he has pointed out some of the positive results and benefits of the course. As a result, he believes that the president should force employees to take this course to increase their productivity.

The recommendation has some weaknesses that should be considered and answered. Based on the first claim, in some companies, such a course has improved the employees ‘productivity. There are some questions that should be explained. Whether or not the background of other companies is the same as Acme company. Does Acme company need such skills for its employees as much as other companies? How comparable the needs and aims of other companies are with the Acme company? It is possible that if some companies benefit from this course, it is because of some related needs that they have had.

In the suggestion above, the personnel director has pointed out two successful graduates of this course. The problem is whether or not these samples have been chosen randomly or intentionally. The number of samples is not a good indication to prove the superiority of the course. There should be more random cases. There is no evidence to prove that the level or skill of the person who can read a five-hundred-page report in only two hours before the course was low and only with the such course has improved. Also, in the second case, do other factors have no effect on the promotion of a person to become vice president of his company? The person may before be participating in the course have tried to get promoted and accidentally during this course have gained such promotion. The ambiguities of these cases should be checked and resolved.

The expenditure of the course for each person is $500, the personnel director believes that compared to the benefits the cost of the course is low. If the company wants to pay, this cost in comparison to other running costs is reasonable. But if employees have to pay, this cost may not be affordable to all of them and also according to their duties spending money on such course might be a waste of money because it does not have any benefits for them. Also, the options mentioned for the course may not be acceptable to all employees.

Finally, the employees must not be required to attend the course. Participation in the course should be optional because compulsory courses can be counterproductive.

In conclusion, the recommendation of the director has to be checked more. According to his argument, we cannot say exactly whether or not the speed-reading course is beneficial to Acme company.