The following is taken from the editorial section of the local newspaper in Rockingham.

"In order to save a considerable amount of money, Rockingham's century-old town hall should

be torn down and replaced by the larger and more energy-efficient building that some citizens

have proposed. The old town hall is too small to comfortably accommodate the number of

people who are employed by the town. In addition, it is very costly to heat the old hall in winter

and cool it in summer. The new, larger building would be more energy efficient, costing less

per square foot to heat and cool than the old hall. Furthermore, it would be possible to rent out

some of the space in the new building, thereby generating income for the town of

Rockingham."

The editorial claims that the Rockingham's century-old town hall should be demolished and a new building, which is larger and energy efficient, should be built in its place. I find the contention of editorial to be rife with many logical fallacies.

Firstly, the new building plan is given by some citizens who are not known, whether they have much expertise to assess the case that the old building has become obsolete and the city wants a new one. Furthermore, the complaint regarding the paucity of space should be made by the staff members who feel discomfort while working in the old building and not by some citizens who go there for a while.

Secondly, the claim that the old town is too small to accommodate the employees comfortably is vague. It is not mentioned in the editorial what is meant by too small. Perhaps, the allotted space for the worker is felicitous and the complaint is just the perception of these citizens or it is required to work in groups to complete the tasks, which is perceived by these citizens to consider the old building as congested space.

Thirdly, it is claimed that the new building would be larger and energy efficient. There is no proof given by the author to support that the space in the old building is small, except the perception of a few citizens. Perhaps, the building is large enough to accommodate its worker comfortably. Furthermore, no plan is suggested to make new building energy efficient. It may be possible that the new building will fail to provide an energy efficient system which would be more effective than the old building system.

Finally, it is claimed that some of the space is rented for other activities and rent is generated through them. It is not known that how much space would be left and would that left out space will be rented by a businessman who can give rent. It may be possible that the location of the site is far away from resident people and the free space will not be rented by anyone.

The author must clear what is meant by “ too small to accommodate employees comfortably. Moreover, the author should interview the employee whether they feel the workspace is small and a definite plan to make building more energy efficient should be described in detail in order to assert that new building will be more energy efficient.