"Over 80 percent of the respondents to a recent survey indicated a desire to reduce their

intake of foods containing fats and cholesterol, and today low-fat products abound in many

food stores. Since many of the food products currently marketed by Old Dairy Industries are

high in fat and cholesterol , the company's sales are likely to diminish greatly and their profits

will no doubt decrease. We therefore advise Old Dairy stockholders to sell their shares and

other investors not to purchase stock in this company."

The author claims that the investors should not buy the shares of Old Dairy Industries because its sale is going to plummet. The premises provided by the author is logically flawed due to many reasons: the size of the survey is not mentioned, no proof is given to prove the high-fat content and a flawed assertion about the decrease in sales is made.

The author claim that over 80% percent of people want a low-fat diet in order to remain salubrious. However, the author does not provide any information about the respondents. It may be possible that the number of respondents is not big, which makes 80% an insignificant figure to affect sales. Moreover, as it is mentioned that these respondents do not want to intake an unhealthy diet, rich in fat and cholesterol, which means they are already shrewd about maintaining their body in good shape. It may be possible that they are not using the Old Dairy Industries product in the first place, which makes their response useless in the survey.

Moreover, the author claims that the company product has high fat and cholesterol content. But, no proof is given in order to substantiate the claim. It may be possible the company is already making healthy products which have low-fat content.

Furthermore, even if the size of the survey is big enough and the Old Dairy products do contain high components of fat and cholesterol, the author wrongly asserts that the sales will decrease. It may be possible that the company will extend its business to other areas where people are not that conscious about fat content or they can start taking orders from faraway places and send their products there in order to make more sales

Finally, the author should provide more information about the respondents, such as numbers, to substantiate his claim. Moreover, the author should quantify the content of fat and cholesterol, so that proportion of unhealthy products can be verified and the author should provide details that the Old Dairy company cannot work outside and if the nearby people would stop to use its product, its sale will decrease.