The following is taken from an advertisement placed in a weekly business magazine by the Dickens Academy. "We distributed a survey to senior management at International Mega-Publishing, Inc. The result of the survey clearly indicates that many employees w

In an advertisement which was published by the weekly business magazine, it is informed that the survey was conducted by Dicken Academy at the senior management of International Mega-Publishing. In which, it was found that the employees are ardent in business knowledge and computer skills but lacks in interaction with the customers. After the employees attend the seminar organized by Dicken Academy to improve the interaction of employees with the customers resulted in the steep increase of the sale. Therefore, other organizations should also choose Dicken Academy to enhance sale. The above claim is rife with holes due to many logical fallacies.

Firstly, the survey which was done on the senior management is in itself questionable. There is no information given about how many people responded to the survey in senior management team. It is possible that only fewer members took part in the survey. Even if all the members took part, it is not mentioned that how qualified they are. It may be possible that the problem is somewhere else and not with the customer interaction by employees but they are not able to diagnose it. Furthermore, it was claimed that the customers are unsatisfied with the interaction of the employee of Mega Publishing and there is no report of survey which was done on customers to support this claim was provided. So, a survey should be conducted on the customers to know that whether customer interaction of employees is a problem or not.

Secondly, it is claimed that the performance of the employees enhanced in dealing with customers by only attending the seminar and due to which the sales increased. There might be other reasons such as there could be a launch of new products by company or the company has improved the quality of the product or customer service due to which more people are attracted towards the product. Therefore, the seminar might coincided with other events and Dicken Academy took the chance to advertise it in good light in order to get more company involved in their program. There is no evidence that is provided to support that the seminar is the sole reason for the rise in the sale and no other events took place.

Finally, even if the above claim is true then why should any company only opt Dicken Academy. It might be possible that there are other firms which can improve the performance of the employees in order to become more courteous to the customers. Dicken Academy should provide evidence that they are best in the business so that companies can rely on them.

There are many flaws in the advertisement. To strengthen the argument the author should provide evidence to prove the reliability of the senior management on which the survey was conducted. Moreover, Dicken Academy should provide the report about the business activity of International Mega-Publishing that no other factors increased the sale except the improvement of employees interaction by attending 1- day seminar. Furthermore, a survey should be conducted on customers to see whether they are satisfied with the employee interaction or not.