Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In a country, most of the population travel through public transport to get to their everyday destination. The prompt suggests that government should focus on improving railways rather than roads. I do not agree with this statement mainly for two reason which I will discuss in the essay.

To begin, half of the population of a country do not own private cars. Thus, they use public transport such as- bus , minibus and trains to reach their workplace or school. Although trains are a widely used public transport, it will be unfair to ignore the development of roads. For example, professionals often need to take trains to their work. But students are mostly admitted to schools in their own cities or nearby cities and such kind of comparatively shorter distances are covered by public bus. So, if government shifts their focus only on upgrading railways rather than roads, students will face increased difficulty in everyday travels. Therefore, government should try to expend money in improving both the media of transports.

Moreover, Spending money on railways only will deteriorate the conditions of roads day by day. Tourists visiting the country does not only use trains, rather they use rental cars, public bus etc. to navigate from one place to another. And if funds were spent only behind railways, tourists will face difficulty in travelling by road. Consequently, this might defame the country lessening tourist visits further.

To conclude, Government should focus equally on improving roads and railway systems. Focusing on only one media of transport will cause difficulty for the population using the other media for their daily travels.