Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing and s

Education both formal and informal enhances knowledge and confidence to face future challenges in professional and personal life. But some people believe that formal education limit the imagination and restrict the mind to think beyond the points. I believe that formal education is essential for everyone and it actually opens the door for countless opportunities exist in the world.

People who believe that formal education confine thought process of an individual have some rational points. First of all, it is generally seen that teachers in school emphasis more on concentrating the syllabus and reluctant to teach more than defined in curriculum. As a result, students who follow the teachers religiously can’t imagine that knowledge exists beyond the textbook. Secondly, the assessment in formal education is based on the annual or biannual exam and it is important for every student to get higher marks to prove their level of knowledge. Consequently, students are advised to study for aiming excellent marks and not to actually get in deep of the subjects. For example, my daughter who studies in class 10th was told to study only the points taught in class as those are likely to be in the exam paper.

However, formal education’s importance can’t be degraded based on the above points and most of the parents think that schooling is considered beneficial for all-round development. School courses are designed by academics, keeping in mind of child’s age, level of understanding and systematic growth. This results in, when students complete the education, they become well rounded knowledgeable citizen who are able to apply the knowledge in various areas of life. For instance, former India President who was not admitted in school in initial days but later on got the opportunity to study in university and became a scientist and he especially attributed his success to education gained in college and university.

To conclude, formal education always helps students to remain focused and not to deviate owing to limitless things to learn in universe. It sets the path for systematic development which turns students to become what they aspire for.