Clay pots of a particular specific design have earlier been found in the surrounding area of the prehistoric village of Karia and so were supposed to have been made exclusively by the people from Karia. However, of late, archeologists discovered a 'Karian' clay pot in Toga, an ancient village across the Mist River from Karia. The Mist River is very deep and wide, and so the ancient Karians could have crossed it only by boat, and no Karian boats have been found. Hence it is obvious that the so-called Karian clay pots are not uniquely Karian.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument presented by the author is full of assumptions without evidence. There is no evidence provided about the river if it has changed its course in the intervening period or if there is a rise in the water level. Also, we don't know how thorough was the excavation. Hence this argument is rife with holes making it a faulty argument.

An assumption is made by saying that the clay pots are specifically made by the karians.

But there is a possibility that may be some karian residents who knew the art of making karain clay pots relocated to Toga village due to some reason and continued their legacy of making karian pots in Toga Village. There are many other possibilities that the migrants made these clay pots to earn a living. There is also a possibility that the merchants of Karia village went to the Toga village to sell their unique pots to get more value. Another possibility is, the pot discovered may be similar to the Karian pots but to differentiate, there must be some more information about the design, shapes for both the pots. So specific evidence s needed to assume that Karian pots were not uniquely Karian.

The second premise has no evidence that there is only one way that is via boat to commute to Toga Village from Karia village for the villagers. There is a possibility that there may be another route through land or river that may be less deep and wide.

There is also a possibility that the Karians were ahead of the time and built a bridge over such a deep and wide river. There is no evidence to the statement that no karian boats have been found. and requires more information. As it may be possible that earlier they used the boats but in the latter days maybe the boats have been destroyed due to floods or war or maybe any other reasons. There should be specific evidence to support the argument.