Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The impact of education of minds of student is one of the most important topics that has recently come into light. Due to the debatable nature of this topic, we can find people supporting as well as refuting the statement. However, the extreme successes of college dropouts inclines me to believe that formal education does actually restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Knowledge is the most important tool any person can possess, and formal education has always focussed on improving the knowledge of the student. This surely helps the student to be aware of what is going on in the world and where the particular student stands. However all of this is done by designing a common curriculum for all the students. As it is known that not every student is equal, having a common curriculum may have some adverse effect on the imagination and thinking of student. As the story goes that, if you judge an elephant by its ability to climb a tree and judge a fish by its ability to run, they would always believe that they are stupid. Similarly constricting a particular student to a syllabus which is common to all may force a student to do things that he might not be actually good at or interested in. Secondly,the limited scope of the curriculum can cut the wings of freedom that a student can develop by setting his mind free.

With people like Bill Gates, Steve Jobs and Mark Zuckerberg being named as college dropout certainly puts forth a question before us doubting the credibility of formal education in today’s time. There success stories have proven that even without formal education we can achieve what we dream of. Formal education nowadays pose a threat to student’s imagination by forcing him to limit his thinking to nothing outside the textbook.

With such strong examples of successful people in front of us surely makes us question the formal education system and assert that “formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free”.