Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The term “Government” suggests it is the governing body ensuring social welfare and well being of its citizens. As, government works on the principle of setting up rules and regulations to govern and guarantee smooth and efficient working of all its bodies, setting up a few rules and restrictions on scientific research and development is justified and required.

Setting up certain rules in the fields of research and development would ensure the overall development of the country as a whole. In research encompassing defense and military development will surely require certain government norms to be set up to make sure that the research and development activities are abiding the government policies and stance across the globe. If these rules are not set up it might lead to international disputes and war-like situations which would threaten the security of the nation. P: Setting up rules and regulations in such sensitive fields is justified.

However, Scientific research and development is a field where not only knowledge but imagination also plays an important role. In such fields, if the rules and regulations hamper the freedom of the researchers it may lead to a stunted development of the field and the country as a whole. Researchers always have to think outside the box to develop something new and extraordinary which might actually have some values, and for this, they might have to push their limits of knowledge and imagination, in such cases if the rules imposed by the government limit their experiments, it will lead to stagnation. When NASA was decided to send men on the moon for the first time, it involved a lot of risk and feet like this was never achieved before. If at that time the government would have imposed some restrictions on their research the history of space travel would have been completely different from what we know now. Thus, the restriction imposed by the government may hamper the overall activities of research and development.

On the other hand, not imposing any restrictions may lead the researchers to take undue advantage of the situation which may not benefit the society. This may allow researchers to achieve their own personal goals which may not be in line what the nation or world as a whole needs. This research would surely waste a lot of time and government funds which is totally inappropriate and unacceptable.

Similarly, imposing a lot of restrictions would surely kill the creativity of the researchers by limiting their knowledge and locking their imaginations in a cage of government rules.

This makes us believe that imposing too many restrictions would hamper the progress in the field of research and development but, no restrictions may tend to be harmful to the development of the nation. Thus, it surely seems cogent enough to allow governments to place few if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.