Government officials should rely on their own judgement rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people whom they serve

The prompt focuses on the role of government official as a most responsible person of a state. Government officials are not the employee of a particular government employed for a short period of time like an elected government as per constitution. Basically, they are known as the servant of the People’s Republic and serves until a certain period of time fixed by the constitution of the country. So, it may be expected that as an employee of the nation they will always keep in mind the benefit of the people of the country rather than the benefit of the government.

Some members of the government may have good intensions to work for the development of the country and some may have bad intensions to be self-benefitted in anyhow. A government official having the ethics and liability to the country should distinguish them by their judgment and should not comply with the bad one which is harmful for the country. In addition, the good initiative may be good for the present and in future its consequence may not bring any benefit. A qualified and experienced official can investigate it by his proper judgment and influence the government not to implement it for ensuring better future. So, personal judgment of a responsible person is necessary in case of shaping government ideas.

Government as a body has different types of members having different backgrounds. Generally, they are deputed to administer the wings or ministry of the country to whose activity they are not familiar with. Sometimes, it happens that a doctor elected as a member has been selected as a minister of disaster management. Since he has educated himself in the medical field and spent a majority time in that field, so it is common that during the time of policy making he may take his decision without thinking logically and reality. Besides, while making strategy and plan he or she may be influenced by the supporter of his party to provide them benefit ignoring the right and demand of the general public. The member of the government rely on the respective officials of his department before making policy and plan and ask for valuable opinion as an expert. The government employee as a part of the administration could verify the activity of the government body by using their intellectual capability to stop the issues at any stage of proposal, approval and implementation. This will influence the government members to choose appropriate decision and strengthen the economy of the country by avoiding the waste of money.

To reach a goal and to attain success following order is required. For example, in defense sector chain of command is mandatory and they have to follow the order of their superior rather than questioning and trying to implement their judgment. This is applicable for battle field because the consequence of disobeying an order may affect the sovereignty and victory. But, in real life accompany the illegal order may cause a great danger to the whole nation. So, judgment of official worker of the nation should be introduced at the time of need.

The general public is not directly involved in the official process but the government member and government officials have such role. A questioning attitude of the government official as a right keeper of public always makes alert to the replier that is representative of the government. So, applying judgment for the betterment of the people may be beneficial for the whole nation and to ensuring better future.