Government should offer college and university education free of charge to all students Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take In develop

Education is the utmost important thing in the standards of current living. Even the growth of a country someway depends upon the percentage of educated employees. As government plays a huge role in defining the journey of growth of a country or a provision, developing a suitable plan for education considering the diversity in income, living standards, etc, sounds a troublesome task. Our issue here for government to provide free education in the college and university is considerably a huge matter of debate. My views have supporting as well as contradicting points and I prefer to go with a judiciary approach based on particular factors.

Cost of living has one of the sky-rising trend in current scenario. An article from a survey suggests that the cost of growing up a child till 20 years will cost more than a crore(INR). An unaffordable number for an abundant population of this world. A dominating proportion of this amount belongs to the education cost starting from play school till university. Considering more than 50% of current population as a middle class with just required income, providing education to an individual is near to an impossible task. If government supports people with providing free education, this population can build a better future ahead of them which is going to benefit themselves, their family and ultimately to the country too.

The other way around, the rising inflation rates and cost of education will add up a significant expense on the government too. For matching the standards of the rising technologies and teaching methodologies, the charges incorporated for educating an individual will be a fortune. Considering the population, we actually are expecting government to boil up all the oil-selling profits, if there any. Since a few european countries provides free education in government-based colleges and universities, a rough stats claims the costs covers more than 50% of the economic plan. So, making it obvious, not all the countries are capable of providing such facilities to their people.

A solution of this issue would be making a trade-off between providing a free or cost effective education to unaffordable people and let the affordable population pay the required. An effective way would be dividing the population into categories of high, optimum and low income, where the subcidy will be in percentages of 0%, 50-60% and free respectively. This will lead less burden to the government based on education cost along with providing a good quality education to the significant population. This may cause some conflict of interest with people paying more feel a partiality against the others. Since the cause behind this has more on ethical and moral aspects, defining the same to the conflicting parties and spreading awareness with good quality of education can counter these on a longer term.