The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them not by their contemporaries

Our world is developing day-by-day and within the path of development we have contribution of various great individuals. Greatness is a result of living a remarkable journey in life. Getting success and achieving your goals which can be represented as an inspiration, motivation and paradigm for others is the definition of greatness. In our daily life, we tend to take motivation from people who have already achieved the same goals, or the ones who have a path with incredibly great success factor. The prompt presented here claims that the greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries. I have mostly-disagreeing opinion on the statement and I believe the greatness ones defined in an era, lasts endlessly along with the learnings and the philosophies defined. Our history does have many such great individuals whom greatness is still laudable but our present also have countless great personalities who are still on their incredulous journey.

Considering examples from our past, we have great writers like William Shakespeare, whose writings are world famous and one of its kind. Great scientists like Issac Newton, Albert Einstein, etc, whose philosophy and inventions were marvelous and has opened long continuing path of further discoveries and inventions. Mathematicians like Ramanujan, Alen Turing, Aryabhata have gifted the world some great theories whose journey is not ending anywhere soon. All these celebrities had proved themselves in their livelihood and has been appreciated, applauded and felicitated with respectful awards by some reputed organizations. Their greatness was defined at that time and was been accepted and approbated by their contemporaries. Many theories and philosophies presented by their peers were derived, inspired or emulated from the work of these great individuals. Therefore, the greatness of these connoisseurs was decided and accepted at their present and continuing till today.

With reference to our current world, we have great individuals like Sundar Pichai, Elon Musk, Ratan Tata, Mark Zukerberg, Toto Wolff, etc. One can count a big difference between the world we had 50-100 years ago and today and the distinction is being caused/led by various of these such personalities. The world right now is witnessing the change, development, innovations, and technological advancements within our living, standards and surroundings. These revolutions are the result of the greatness of the leaders who are sitting at the pinnacle of their fields and driving the new world. Since this world is producing new leaders every day, the competitors of them fighting their way pass and writing their own greatness story.

Claims of today may possibly be a false tomorrow. The greatness may have downfall. But one’s the greatness is defined, it last endlessly. If not as inspiration, then as a lesson. Within a life, one should not only blindly follow a success story but also need to learn failures. Greatness can also be presented by a determination of finding 100 ways not to succeed and finally one way to do. It’s the understanding, acceptance and inheritance that define greatness and it is irrespective of chronology of the event.