We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whoseviews contradict our own

Learning is a never ending process and it helps people exlpore more and more as one fascinates to. Most of the times we learn from books, web blogs, movies, series, documentries or lecturer, etc. But people we surround also share learnings and that also counts in how we behave, react and present ourselves. I tend to disregard the claim that one learns more from people whose views we share and lesser from those who contradict us because it is never certain. Also, as the reason suggests, Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learnings. I deny with the reason here too as one can gain a destructive criticism for a contradicting view and may take it as motivation to explore more and learn the deeper aspects.

Conflicting views not always serves as a matter of distress and may have different outcomes too. Consider the case of a student studying in secondary school, who had to compete his maths homework for tomorrow's class. As he got a fascianting blog about The Big Bang Theory and find himself indulge to explore the same and missed to do his homework. Since, the student find something interesting and tend to compromise his emementary homeworks, he was castigated the next day at the school. As a part of disagreement between him and school teacher, the student may consider this as learning and gain the skill of time management where he can do his homeworks as well as explore the flamboyant world of Space and Time. This way, neither the given reason nor the given claim asserts and the outcome was a win-win situation for both the conflicting parties. Adding to that, a new skill of time management in the repertoire.

One can contradict with the statement that multiple disagreements may cause distress and demotivate an individual, so the claim as well as the reason hold true. I agree, but there is a positive side of that scenario too. Gaining destructive criticism gives a kind of confidence to the individual too. That may turn him into a stoic personality where the persistency will be the key. Our history has scientists like Galileo who has 100 failures and several criticism, still he tend to be persistant and proved his final thoughts. He learned 100 ways of not dong things and ultimately slapping the criticisms. Conclusively, one can learn more from disagreements too and not always it leads to stress and inhibit learnings.