“Government should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.”

Scientific research and development assist a country to grow as a whole. Though they have a number of constructive advantages, they can be decimating for human beings at times. Therefore, I strongly agree that government should impose some constraints on scientific research and development, specifically on nuclear engineering and animal cloning.

To begin, research on nuclear engineering can be dangerous for the existence of people and other animals as well. Take the incident in Japan during World War II as an example, America attacked Hiroshima and Nagasaki (two nuclear cities of Japan ) in 1945 with the atom bomb, as a result, thousands of people were killed and both cities were completely destroyed. So, to stop such events in the future, scientific research like nuclear engineering should be banned.

Moreover, cloning animals is going to be another deleterious thing in the future; consequently, the number of crimes and populations will be increased. For instance, if people get the chance to clone themselves, they can use their clones to be involved in several crimes. Furthermore, the number of populations will be rocketed if people clone themselves. If this is what occurs, therefore, sanctions should be imposed on scientific research and development.

In conclusion, though scientific research and development are imperative for the growth of the countries and the people, considering the above issues -- decimation of nuclear bombs and cloning of animals -- restrictions on scientific research and development should be placed.