“Governments are justified in circumventing civil laws when doing so is vital to the protection of national security.”

Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true.

It is said that it is justifiable for government to circumvent civil laws for protection of national security. I believe that breaking laws is not justifiable for anyone even for politicians unless in the circumstances that the security of citizen is really threaten.

Civil laws are related to the citizens’ affairs, such as marriage, property ownership and their freedom. These rules are very important for individuals, as they are related to their personal rights. When people are satisfied and do not have any objection that their rights are respected by government. Therefore, many people believe that the state has no right to ignore the civil laws which are related to their affairs. If the government is allowed to circumvent civil laws, many corrupt politicians misuse this situation in favor of their interests. For example, in my country Iran, many problems related to embezzlement occurred because of the permissions given to politicians for circumventing civil laws. This situation cause people’s outrage and they went strike, as they believed that their rights had been ignored.

But in some circumstances government has no choice but to circumvent civil laws. For example, five years ago, some foreign people tried to evoke Iranian young people to go on the streets and break the stores or cut the trees and light the fire in order to show that they are not satisfied with their government. The government for creation of security was forced to forbid the commuting in the streets. For several days, the net in the country was interrupted and people had no access to the world. Many people believe that the state had no this right to curtail people because all individuals have this right to express their opinions and officials only had to punish those who destroyed the public properties. However, sometimes for national security government need to avoid civil laws even if the people become angry and find this condition unfair. This situation is the same as being in the traffic. Cars are in the line and they are not allowed to go into the bus lane. However, suddenly drivers see that the fire truck without any warning goes to the bus lane. At first, they car drivers think that their rights are not respected but after that they can understand the fire truck need to go that lane just because they want to help the city from a bigger problem. It is possible there is bonfire in one places that if it is not put out, it can be extended and suffer more people. So, it is acceptable that most of the time circumventing of civil laws is not desirable for people but they may be justified if they understand ignoring them has been for national security.

Politicians cannot keep all people satisfied. They are responsible to provide security in their country and they usually do that even if it is necessary to bypass civil laws.

In conclusion, In my view it is justifiable the civil laws to be circumvented in some vital situations.