The crime rate has increased with the advancement of technology. Do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion.

It is said that the introduction of advanced technology has raised the crime rate. I agree with this point of view to some extent.

On the one hand, I can explain how the advancement of technology has increased the rate of crime in the world. While the new and modern technologies, such as the internet, not only have increased the overall communication but also have provided many job opportunities for unemployed individuals, they have facilitated the way of committing the crime for some offenders. Evidence shows that every day, they are many hackers or criminals misusing the space of the internet to hack the credit numbers of users or subscribers on different websites and social networks to steal money. Also, the opportunities provided on the internet have downplayed the value of many good manners. For example, in past, if people wanted to become famous, they needed to do something exceptional to impress others. By contrast, some of today's young people in order to get likes or attract followers and even become in the public eye, try to do some violent activities, such as bullying poor people or using guns to make distasteful videos to upload on the social networks.

On the other hand, the use of some modern technologies like video cameras in public places has had the most important role in the reduction of crime. The main aim of video surveillance is to detect criminals and to prevent crime. In this way, many petty criminals, such as shoplifters and pickpockets avoid robbing anything when they feel that they are being watched by cameras. Additionally, if crimes are committed, video cameras can be a valuable support to policemen to catch and prosecute offenders. For instance, through such technology, officials will be able to identify and punish some careless drivers who injure somebody and escape from the crime scene. This warns other drivers to be careful when driving and try not to break driving laws.

In conclusion, in my view, the new technologies have had both positive and negative effects on the rate of crime.