People think that the government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Do you agree or disagree?

It is said that increasing the fuel costs for cars and other vehicles can result in the reduction of environmental matters. I agree with this point of view to some extent.

One of the solutions that officials can take to solve the problem related to the environment is to increase the cost of fuels for different modes of transport, such as cars and motorcycles which mostly pollute the surrounding areas. If governments impose more taxes on fossil fuels, such as petrol, people become more disillusioned to use their private cars or motorcycles. However, this activity does work alone, and I believe that authorities and even people should take other steps for solving this problem. For example, officials can introduce a congestion charge for cars entering the city centre. In this way, people are more encouraged to use public transportation. Additionally, the state must invest in some projects related to the production of vehicles that are environmentally friendly and use some renewable energies, such as sun and wind or electricity. If such projects need a huge budget, officials can try to improve public transport to such an extent that catching a bus or train becomes as convenient as using travelling by car.

On the other hand, some steps should also be taken into account by people for solving this problem. They should try to use public transportations or vehicles which are eco-friendly, such as bicycles. Cycling not only reduces the amount of contamination in the environment but also helps people keep themselves fit and healthy. They can share cars with others who make the same journey. In this way, they can also save more money, as fuel cost is the main drain on individuals ‘income. Moreover, individuals have to try to improve their disposal methods and recycle their rubbish as much as they can. The public should use products that are recyclable and decomposable. With such solutions, people can play an important role in the conservation of the environment.

In conclusion, increasing fuel costs is one of the ways that can help the environment. Other constructive solutions must be addressed by both governments and people.