Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Striking a balance between solving the immediate problems and planning for the future challenges is vital. Focusing majorly on short term problems can lead to a birth of long term problems. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with the statement that the government should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future by backing my opinion with three strong reasons.

Solving an immediate problem may give us quick success or results but it won’t last long. Taking the instance of covid situation. Everyone in the world was aware of the harmful effect of covid on people’s lives. Still there were some countries who didn’t give much attention to the long-term effects of the covid and continued to run their government without any restrictions just because restricting policies will affect their economic ranking adversely. Later on these countries were the only one which had the most numbers of deaths due to covid and still counting. If the government of such countries had realized the need of restriction policies earlier itself then the situation would have been less worsen. Thus, sometimes people feel that solving their immediate problem is more important but this does not hold true.

Planning for the future enables governments to pursue long term improvement in the lives of citizens. For instance, working on sustainable development is important because natural resources are depleting day by day. Advancement in technologies, research systems can help in overcoming these problems, thus governments should allocate ample resources for research and development of technologies which can lead to sustainable development of the country.

Moreover, focusing on anticipated problems of the future mostly lead the government to stay in power for a longer period of time. Usually solving immediate problems only focus on a small section of society but to stay in power, the government should take up policies which equally affect the citizens' lives. For example, the government which focuses more on one religion and promotes it blindly will eventually result in having more critics of other religions rather than supporters. Thus reaching such a risky situation may lead to loss of power.

Solving immediate problems can be necessary sometimes but if we focus on long term plannings and thereby solve immediate problems in between can lead to a good governance and thus immediate problems can also be solved. Therefore we should understand the need of solving long term problems rather than majorly focusing on short term problems.