Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Governments are always involved with planning for the future, solving problems they face, and trying to develop the country the best way possible. The question is what choice they make. In my opinion, dealing with the problems that society will encounter will be easier and more effective if the governments focus more on solving the anticipated issues than immediate ones. I will explain my reasons in following paragraphs.

First of all, planning ahead and preparing for undesired events takes less time and money than solving them after they take place. For instance, during Covid-19 pandemic, one of the main debates was what would have happened if the world was prepared for a worldwide pandemic beforehand and had clear guidelines for it. Many scientists and experts asserted that if we had a plan for these situations, we would have had fewer casulties and less death and contamination rates. So, the governments could have spent less budget on solving the problems and the humanitiarian part of it would have been better, had governments planned ahead.

Moreover, problems of today would not exist if we thought about them and were prepared for them in the past. Focusing on future problems can help a society to develop with higher acceleration rate. In the beginning, it starts slow since less problems are dealt with but with the pass of time it will get better and better exponentially. This is due to the reason stated before that dealing with problems before they happen is easier, cheaper, and less time consuming.

Indeed solving todays problems are important. Society with many present problems are never happy and satisfied which is not good. If a government have multiple problems, it will not be able to perform properly. Also, choosing one of these perspectives depends on the countries' situation and the types of problems they are dealing with. Sometimes an immediate problem cannot be ignored or postponed for a future decision, like warfares or pandemics. Thus, the government needs to proiorotize their affairs and plan for each based on the circumstances. Therefore, governments should spend time and budget on taking care of immediate issue as well, however, I believe it should not be the primary and only focus.

In conclusion, considering the reasons I stated above, I think if governments are looking for a long-term sustainable thrive, they must focus on anticipated problems rather than immediate problems. Of course there are pros and cons to each of the choices, however, from my perspective, the positive points and long-lasting results of choosing future over present is more significant.