Governments should focus on solving immediate problems of today rather than trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

The author here is suggesting that the government should focus on solving the current problems and should not focus on the future problems.The statement itself is debatable and would generate good arguments. Here I would like to take a diplomatic stand for this.Let us analyze the reasons.

The government is basically the body that works for the betterment of the people of state or country. So, the governmnent should opt for different ways to keep their citizens happy. If the government focuses only on the immediate issues then the citizzens may be satisfied intially but later it can create a problem for the citizens themselves. If there is a possibility of any natural calamity predicted by the weather department and the government is only focussing on the immediate issues then there are very high chance that the particular state or the country may suffer from great damage in terms of lives of people or in terms of economy.

If there is prediction of a recession kind of situation in the nearby future and if the government doesn't take any precautions then there will be huge economical damage that could have been avoided. Also, if it is anticipated that there will be disease breakout in the country and if the government is not prepared for that kind of situation then it will not yield good results for the government and as well as their citizens.

Looking at the other side of the coin, if the government focuses only on the future problems then the citizens might suffer some problem. If there is a case that government is planning a big investment for the future which might profit them and therefore they impose heavy tax on the citizens then the citizens will be vey unhappy about that.Or if there is a case that the government is trying to develop a future project and for that their will be some cutoff of the employes from the government then it will not have good effects.This situtaion worsens if there is already a problem of less employment prevailing among the citizens.

Also if there is a case that in the particular country there are more important issues prevalant in the society that the government should address on immediate terms for example poverty, corruption and so on and if at that time the government focuses on the future issues then it will be big problem. If the government is not focussing on the current problems like corruption then the citizens will be vey unhappy and will doubt the working of the government. The government should not take of their mind from the current issues also.And working on the current issues may result in the knowledge of any future problem that is likely to occur.

So, we can say that there can be problems if the government focuses only on the current issues and not on the future issues or vice versa then that might lead to one or other problem.So, the effective solution can be to maintain a very good balance between them. Because if the government wants to show their working to the citizens then they will have to resolve the current prevailing issues and also they will have to focus on the future predicted issues also. This will make the government look good in the eyes of their citizens.