Teacher’s salary should decided on the basis of student’s academic performance.
This statement suggests that teacher’s salary should decided on
the basis of student’s academic performance. This statement
seems to be very tempting because anyone would like to
implement this kind of thing in the Education system. However, I
would like to present some point of differences from my side.
Firstly, teacher’s salary cannot be decided on the basis of
academic performance of the students whom they teach. Even if
the teachers put their maximum effort to make the subject
understandable it may happen that due to some reason the
students could not give a better performance. In such case the
efforts made by the teacher cannot be neglected. For example, a
student worked very hard for his/her exams but due to some
reasons the student was not able to perform well in the exam.
Here there is no mistake of the student or the teacher. So, this
may be proven as injustice to the teacher who have given their
best effort in teaching.
Secondly, there is a strong possibility the teachers in order to get
a good salary will try to make the student study only the topic
which he/she will be asking in exam. In worst case a teacher may
try to leak the exam paper which is not ethical. This kind of
incident can endanger the key principle of education. Education is
given to the students for the betterment of one’s country and
social changes. Also, in some schools a certain subject is taught by
more than 1 teacher. In such cases it becomes difficult to know
that which teacher gave more or less efforts in making students
learn the subject. This may produce differences among the
teachers and they can try to show each other down for the sake
of good salary.
The third reason for my contrary thoughts with this statement is
that in certain schools there are rules that the intelligent students
will sit in one class and the weak students will sit in other class.
Here the problem is that a certain subject is taught by a same
teacher in both the class. So, by natural the performance of the
class with intelligent students will be undoubtedly better than the
class of weak students. So, in such case how to decide that the
teacher will get increment or decrement in their salary? Also,
teachers may try to pressurize the students in order to get a good
result followed by good salary. This may lead to mental
disturbance for some students.
This statement can be effective in some of the rural government
schools where the punctuality and the teaching pedagogy of
teachers are questioned. But again, there is a strong probability
that the government school teachers may contaminate the results
of their students and show very fine results and grades in order to
get a good salary. In such case the future of the students is
endangered and they are being denied the true education they
deserve.
In the final analysis, I would like to say that this kind of rule have a
higher chance of having more negative effects rather than
affirmative. So, this is a huge statement to be implemented in the
education system. So, there is a very high chance of this policy not
proving effective.