Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Controversy over government investment in arts has waged important argument for a long time. While it is clear of the significance of arts in the society, there is not yet a concensus on whether the government should spend a great amount of tax revenue on it. For a long time, I have been standing on the side of "the least intervention," and it is not only because of my identity as an aspiring economist, but also because of the value of freedom I believe in. Let me elucidate that further.

Inevitably I have to first address the issues regarding basic economics. In the passage, it is suggested that spending on arts is so crucial that it should be expand to the same level as spending military. It should be noted that military is a whole different issue than art, regardless of their equal importance in people's lives. Military can only be provided by the government for its public good nature. Citizens do not have the incentive to provide military to defend their people because once the defense is employed, everyone in the nation benefits. On the other hand, arts can totally be run by private organizations. Galleries, private collection, private museums..., as long as people have the inerest to enjoy, they are willing to invest in arts. Thus, there should not be so much concern over whether there is a lack of investment in art since people, in nature, appreciate things that are beautiful and thought-provoking. In the Renaissance Italy, arts florished not because of government but because of the rich families that are willing to spend to cultivate the artists.

Another reason why I strongly oppose large government intervention in arts is how it might contrain freedom, which is at the core of arts. Art is a form of self-expressing, and it should not be limited. The hazard of government investment in art, especially if it dominates, is likely to lead to silence on the policies. After all, artists still have to look out for their livelihood so they do not want to irrtate their investors. However, great arts sometimes, if not most of the time, comes from different opinions: Milan Kundera, famous writer in former Czech Republic, was a dissident against the USSR alliance. If he was only sponsored by the government, there is no way he can make a living writing the brilliant "the unbearable lightness in life", which contains much of his ideas against the then regime.

There is little doubt of the importance of arts. It has shaped our lives in an imaginable way, and like all other forms of activies, it requires resources to florish. However, I do not believe that government should be the main character in this, for arts has its special meaning of freedom that should be independent from the incumbent power, and that there are other ways--private, namely--to support its development.