Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

It is not uncommon for people to argue that there is no need to fund any scientific research with unclear consequences. As it is obvious that if the research doesn't have any contributions to the society, the money spent on it is wasted. However, no scientific conduction is sure to have achievement or certain result. It has some chance to fail to reach the request. That's why I hold the view that disagrees with the argument.

When considering which scientific research to support, the government should take many factors into account. Whether an experiment has consequence must be a significant factors, because it determines whether it is efficient to patron a research. However, there are other important aspects such as the time, the expense and the teamwork. The alternatives the government should consider is that the government can give less money to the research with vague result than that with incisive result. In another word, the government should analyse the research in a more comprehensible way instead of sticking to a single dimension.

Another reason why I hold the opposite view of the argument is because the features of the scientific research. It is widely accepted that conducting a scientific research includes may steps such as writing the paper, doing the experiment and writing down the result. There are many obstacles prohibit the team from the anticipating result in theses complex steps. For instance, the Edison has made hundred times of failure before he finally invent the electric light. In that case, it is nearly impossible to predict whether a research has good or bad result before it is done.

Moreover, It will lead to bad effect to the whole science field if such law is implemented. For one thing, who would be the person to judge whether the research would have consequences? If he or she has wrong analysis toward a flourishing research? For another, some people will directly give money to the officers for the hope that they want more money form the government, which will lead to partiality as well as Embezzlement.

In conclusion, I disagree with the statement as it is partial, and may lead to bad effect towards the society.