Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Scientific research is the fundamental way of technology and development to grow and wind up in being something more and more useful throughout humans' history. It has always been like this, and, since the beginning of our kind, findings and discoveries have marked our path toward the building of a burgeoning and higher society. Without any doubt, governments are expected to fund as many scientific research as they can afford to, but this often means that, given that often nations do not have the possibility to endlessly fund any of the fund-demaning sectors, governments have to choose whether to fund or not a certain reserach. It is unobjectable that the above statement, that is, the policy to only fund research whose consequences are unclear, is the worst mistake that a governor could make. Both our history and the inherent meaning of science expounds us why it would be wrong not to fund uncertain researches.

In fact, to begin with, several milestones of the history of the human kind are determined by huge and unexpected scientific revolutions. From the discovery of fire, that dramatically modified our life giving us the power to manage and control a natural and efficient form of energy; to the couple of industrial revolutions that occurred in the last two centuries and a half, that were both pivotal in the creation of the modern societal system we are used to. In both the cases, the finding were almost fortuitus, there were no expectation to discover fire nor to revolution the world with a new industrial set. Galileo Galilei, who inventied telescopes, Tesla, for his discoveries about electricity, and even Cristofer Colon with America: they all share one undoubtedly crucial aspect in their scientific research. Namely, they had no idea what they were about to find. Aligning to these evedences, it seems clear to me that scientific research is meant to be made about aspects of our knowledge that not only promise us to bring to some well-planned conclusion, but that are also opened to possible unexpected and unpredected consequences.

In the same way, we can follow the model mainteined by the same Galileo Galilei about scientific research. He basically stated that to demonstrate something new, scientists had to make hypotesis, follow experimental paths, and eventually assert what they find. Hence, it is to be deemed correct that scientific research is something that, based on the past experiences and hypotesis, can lead to anything the non pedestrian scientist can imagine about, even following a flux of hypotesis that was not previously planned. This is the way that some world-wide very famous scientist built their success: Einstein, above all, with his almost absurd experiments about relativity, whose consequences were concretely obscure. If his researches had not been funded by anyone, now we would still being dreaming about the un-arrivable diety called Selene that for ancient Greek was the Moon.

On the other hand, it is true that, sometimes, research can result in deleterious and harming discoveries. When, during World War II, nations spent much of their money for chemistry research, they could not even imagine that they were funding the discovery of nuclear bombs and other similar weapons of massive destruction. It is apparently true, then, tha governments should not blindly fund researches without a minimu idea of what they are effectively funding. As a matter of fact, though, those chemistry findings have been the base for what is now called Quantum Theory, a physical set of rules that are crucial in the aknowledging of out reality and universe.

As it is obvious, hence, even if there is a subtle chance for scientists to discover something horrendous or seriously dangerous, governments should still plan to fund the more researches they can. In fact, the most important steps in our history have been made thanks to wierd and unexpected findings.