Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Scientific research is a source of new inventions. Here, prompt states that government should not provide funding to a research project whose functions are ambiguous. I mostly disagree with the statement and argue that consequences of most of the scientific research is not known in the initial state.

To begin with, the results and its application of a research project cannot be accurately predicted by the scientists beforehand. Usually, scientists research based on their passion and interest rather than the consequences of the research afterward. For instance, a scientist who has passion towards the cosmos will work on the particle physics related to the cosmos with out regard to the importance of the result from the research. So, for government to limit the budget on the scientific research project whose ambitions are unclear will not be prudent.

Furthermore, if the government limit the budget based on the consequences then it is imperative that scientific community will react to it by exaggerating the result and proving the result will have huge impact even if does not. This can be seen in the community where some results are over hyped. The scientists faking the data are now common to receive the grant or fellowship. Usually the research nature and its direction change with the findings of each stage, so final conclusion of the research are usually unknown or cannot be predicted. So when government decide to fund only the project with clear goal then the scientists will be forced to skew the data towards that goal and will try to make the project aligned towards initial goal even if the new goal seemed more accurate.

However, it can be argued that the research project which do not have a clear agenda will only waste the money and time of the government. For instance, if a research project goal is vague then it is prudent to restrict the fund for those type of the project and the money can be utilized elsewhere.

In conclusion, government should not restrict the fund on the basis of the consequences of the project as usually the project actual consequences cannot be accurately predicted beforehand and restricting budget on the basis of result will only lead to the over hyping of the results rather than beneficial research.