Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Science has played a vital role in the evolution of the humankind. In fact, There has never been such a large change in the development of technology and science through the last decades. The prompt recommends the government to not financially support scientific researches where consequences are not clear. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this suggestion and argue that government should fund research even if the results are uncertain for two reasons.

To begin, the researches results can never be decided as it is usually based on innovation and finding the answer that does not exist. For instance, the vaccines needed for the cure of any diseases or any virus like Swine flu which can't be made on the first attempt, the best result came after myriad of failed attempts which is researched on global scale by different organizations. If the government can fund this researches then it would be impossible to evolve through any pandemic or diseases. The above example illustrates that the security and medical system is highly fragile toward any global epidemic which can't be curb through general medical systems, if we assume that searches should not be funded, It will only exasperate the situation. it seems absurd to think that there will be no pandemic, the researches without the fund would be able to handle it in the future? Past Experience tells us that it will not.

Further, even if we assume that the research results are most probably unclear, government should still provide and invest in the scientific research as there is still possibility of effective research. For instance, if any group of scientist researching on a certain technology or project which is very difficult to perform and after numerous failed attempt they find success. Yes, there was risk of lose of resources and time if it fails but, it was also a chance to change the future because it is definitely better than not even trying. Moreover, researches in weapons which behold the security and economy of a country and also Space Exploration are the best example, in which the success is followed by failure projects, money and time. So, we can assume that not funding researches would only limit the evolution of technology, economy, security and development of country. There are also vie between the governments in the innovation of medicine, weapons and space exploration, in which one country can also prevail the other one. Thus, government should fund scientific researches even though consequences are unclear.

Of course, some argue that, adequate funds can't be provided to most researches happening in the country otherwise it would unsettle the economy. However, government should fund in most researches as it also increases the number of success, which would bring money to the country. Ignoring the researches due to lower changes would just be harmful for our own. If there is a minute chances of clarity in the research then it should be funded.