Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Nowadays, thanks to advances in technology and research methodologies, governments and people are relying to the results of the scientific researches more than past since not only authorities are allocating a significant share of the annual budget to the member of faculties in universities but also many private associations have progressive efforts to supply the scientists' financial needs. The author suggests that if there is not any indicated results for the results of the researchers, it is better for governments to hold back their investments on these researches. I mostly disagree with this recommendation because of two reason.

To begin with, the nature of the science is based on the theories and inscribed in an incessant circle. Relying on the consequences of the past researchers, a scientist makes some assumptions and start his experiments. Obviously, there are some conjectured results for the research, however, any evidence for the absolute occurrence of the results is not presented. For example, consider that after the spreading COVID-19, the governments would not invest on the researches helped in producing the vaccine for this Coronavirus because they were not sure about the efficiency of the vaccine or its negative side effects in human beings. As a result of not funding the medical researches, more people would have died or hospitalized and subsequently, the economics in various countries would have put in a critical situation. Therefore, the scientific discoveries are chronologically related to each other and also most of them do not have clear results. If authorities avoid investing on the academic researches, improvement in various scientific subjects for the next generation would be stopped.

Furthermore, looking at history, when the governors were relied on the power of the church,many scientists had established their own laboratories in the basement of their houses. People used to laugh at them or not to take their speeches seriously. I mean that, nothing can be stop the processes of growth in science. The researchers would still put their efforts to experiment their theories in a smaller scope. However, in this case the efficiency of the results may not be generalized for a bigger scales.In addition, if there are some noxious consequences, they would not appear in a small scale and applying them in large samples may brings about worse occurrence.

In contrast, some people may say that many deleterious things in word such as fatal weapons or toxic materials would not have produced if the authorities had not funded the scientists. Unfortunately, I want to say that many destructive researches have been ordered by the governments to gain more power in the world. The more a country reaches the advanced weapons of war, like nuclear bombs or missiles, the more be able to rule the world these days.