Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is a well-established fact that education is critical to the growth and success of an individual. Today almost everyone yearns to educate themselves in order to have a thriving career. This makes higher education an essential step to have better chances of successful employment. But alas, the reality remains that most of the good colleges and universities (mainly government) are very expensive and not everyone can afford to enrol themselves. It would be a good step forward if the government takes some steps to make it accessible to all and providing free college education would be one of the greatest steps.

We have all kinds of people in the society with vast economic disparities between them. The costly university course structure makes it really difficult for those who are underprivileged economically to thrust themselves forward by getting access to a quality education. Offering higher education free of charge would be a game-changer. Since everyone has the right to education, I believe everyone should have equal opportunities as well. Moreover, here are so many people who due to the lack of money have not been able to work and prove themselves to their full potential. There have been many examples of students coming from the lower strata of the society who lack equal opportunities and are hence not able to fulfil their career commitments. One wonders how many great minds must have remained unrecognised due to such trivialities.

Though it might sound strange in some parts of the world, this type of policy has been adopted in Germany quite a while ago. The country offers free education to all till they have completed their college education and offers university level courses for a reasonable price. This way students are able to focus on their studies rather than constantly worrying about either paying their enormous student loans or being preoccupied with paying their equally enormous tuition fees. It has been a successful model and now students all over the world think of Germany as their eduction destination. I think all countries should take this example into consideration and apply it as soon as possible.

However, one must look at the other side of the coin as well. Even though this initiative might come with more advantages than disadvantages, it would substantially affect the revenue generation.